TeeVee 2 – Your TV Shows Guru

TeeVee App IconWe have focused on the needs of TV Show fans. The homepage of the app provides all of the important information about upcoming episodes of the user’s favorite TV shows. Also TeeVee automatically sets up notifications for every upcoming episode. Every TV Show has information about itself (upcoming episode, cast, info, previous episodes).

Price: $1.99

App Store Rating: 3 .5 / 5 Stars (77 Reviews)

Introduction

Many folks may consider themselves TV enthusiasts. It just so happens that my wife is one of those folks. In fact, she has the uncanny ability to recall the channel number and network name for any show that I can name (which admittedly is not that many).

Short List of TV Shows

In case you haven’t guessed, I am not one of those folks. But, trust me when I say that you don’t want to get between my wife and this week’s episode of Pretty Little Liars.

Unfortunately (or something…), many of us don’t have the TV guide for the next week memorized. What if your phone could keep track of all of your favorite shows? Well now it can!

TeeVee 2 is the latest app from CrazyApps, the makers of TeeVee 1! (or so I’m assuming…) This App will supposedly help you keep track of all of your favorite TV shows so you never have to miss another episode of The Walking Dead!

Photo of Walking Dead character holding a gun

Change the channel… I dare you!

The Dirty

I’ll admit, I was skeptical of the usefulness of this App. I don’t even watch that much TV! How useful could it really be? Well, I decided to give it a whirl and here’s what I found out.

First, the App is gorgeous! I am a sucker for great design and this App has it! You simply click the “+” button on the screen and type the name of your favorite show! I tried typing in a few shows (“How I Met Your Mother”, “Shark Tank”, and “Orange is the New Black”) and they all came right up with nice screenshots and a countdown until the next episode. It will also provide alerts so you don’t miss your shows!

TeeVee Screenshot 1

Additionally, if you click each show, you get a nice description of the show, cast info, and episode lists with summaries. The episode list also functions as a checklist, so you can remember which episodes you still need to watch!

Now, bear in mind that this App is for tracking episodes as they premier, not every time the show comes on. (Otherwise, marathons of your favorite shows could make your life miserable.) Due to this functionality, if the air date hasn’t been announced, it simply displays “TBA”. There is nothing you can do about it, so calm down…

Picture of Loki (Thor) screaming "Tell Me!"

That being said, my wife (who is quite aware of the air date for the next episode of The Walking Dead) noticed that the App is not displaying a countdown for The Walking Dead, but rather displays as “TBA”. I didn’t see this as a big deal until she informed me that the show is supposed to come on in 3 days!

Final Thoughts

App Store Junkie Rating:

4 Stars

Win

Overall, this App is a real winner! The concept is great! The user interface is stunning! However, the execution still needs some work. When one considers that the purpose of the App is to have the release dates of TV shows, the concept of not having the release date for one of the most popular shows on television is unacceptable.

Futurama Fry

Fortunately, it does not seem that this is a very common issue. The rest of my shows have worked flawlessly and I have used it for a few months. Hopefully, they will address this issue quickly. Otherwise, this App is a slam dunk and has officially made its way into my “Entertainment” folder on my iPhone.

You can download the App for $1.99 here.

Jesse (Supaman) Nichols is a web designer. He lives a blissfully happy life with his wife in North Augusta, SC.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in App Reviews, Entertainment

Leave a Reply

Follow App Store Junkie on WordPress.com
Recent Posts
